RSS

26. The Untouchables (1987)

04 Feb


Roger’s Rating :

Should be :

Roger doesn’t like this really good movie too much. He gave it a thumbs down and only two stars. He said in his review “The Untouchables has great costumes, great sets, great cars, great guns, great locations and a few shots that absolutely capture the Prohibition Era. But it does not have a great script, great performances or great direction.”
I disagree with it not having a great script, performances or direction.. I loved the writing, De Palma’s direction and the performances. I really enjoyed Sean Connery’s performance as Jim Malone and I thought Robert De Niro was really good as Al Capone too. I did have some issues with some of the distortion of the events, but overall I found it to be an excellent historical movie.
The homage to the Battleship Potemkin steps scene alone makes it worth viewing. The movie has an 8.0 rating on IMDB but Roger’s two star review is telling people not to see it. That was a big mistake on Roger’s part.

 
Comments Off on 26. The Untouchables (1987)

Posted by on February 4, 2010 in Ebert's worst

 

Comments are closed.

 
