RSS

4. Mad Max : Beyond the Thunderdome (1985)

19 Apr
tina 
Roger’s Rating :

Should be :

I liked the first two Mad Max movies but the third one in the series was tough to watch. Roger, on the other hand, loved it. He said  in his review that “Sequels are not supposed to be better than the movies that inspired them. The third movie in a series isn’t supposed to create a world more complex, more visionary and more entertaining than the first two. Sequels are supposed to be creative voids. But now here is Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome, not only the best of the three Mad Max movies, but one of the best films of 1985.”
He also said, “The fight between Mad Max and Master-Blaster is one of the great creative action scenes in the movies.” and finishes by saying “This is a movie that strains at the leash of the possible, a movie of great visionary wonders.”
It’s amazing to me that he could have liked this movie that much (he gave it 4 stars!!). I watched it again just to make sure that I hadn’t missed something. I don’t think I did. I like science fiction and I really like post-apocalyptic films. But this film was slow, preposterous and desperately searching for a plot, but it seems that Roger liked it better than Blade Runner. On IMDB it has a rating of 5.9. Everyone makes mistakes sometimes and I think Roger made a big one in this review.
 
Comments Off on 4. Mad Max : Beyond the Thunderdome (1985)

Posted by on April 19, 2009 in Ebert's worst

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

 
